William was my great grandfather and the third child of Joseph Newton and Mary Lodema (Hurn/Hearn) Vandergriff. He had 7 brothers and sisters. He was born 25 Aug 1879 in Hood County, Arkansas. On 15 Apr 1900, he married my great grandmother Mattie Rocelia Simpler (sometimes listed as Samples) in Erath, McLennan, Texas. They had 8 children: Joseph Daily, Audrey Velma, Robert Wren, William Clovis, Mary Lou, Mabrey “Bo” Carl, George Gaylord (my grandfather) and Vaughn Aaron. I have information all families except Vaughn. I lost track of him after he enlists in the service in 1943.

William spent his life farming in Hood, Swisher and Randall counties in Texas according to the census records. In 1940 he classifies himself as a “poultry distributor.” Does this mean chicken farmer instead of agricultural products? I’m not sure at this point.

He died on 23 Dec 1944 in Amarillo, Potter, Texas. He was buried in Dreamland Cemetery, Canyon, Randall, Texas on 26 Dec 1944.Image

Image

